West Indies vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I


Match Details

Date: 3rd  March 2021

Time: 3:30 AM (IST)

Venue: Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua


West Indies face off against Sri Lanka in the 1st T20 international of this series. The match will be taking place at Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua. Both teams would be looking forward to prepare themselves for the ICC T20 World Cup in India, later this year.

West Indies have named a strong squad and have called up veterans Chris Gayle and Fidel Edwards, back into the squad. The squad also boasts of some T20 big-guns like Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and Jason Holder. This experience is coupled with young blood in the form of Obed McCoy, Fabian Allen, Nicholas Pooran.

Sri Lanka on the other hand, are coming on the back of 2 humiliating losses against England in their own backyard. Joe Root ruthlessly decimated them and Sri Lanka will thus be low on confidence. They last played a T20 series against West Indies itself and lost that series 2-0. West Indies will be a tough nut to crack and they most certainly need to bring their A game against the mighty West Indies.

Team News

West Indies:

Chris Gayle (41) and Fidel Edwards (38) have paved their way back to the national team. The West Indies team boasts of a blend of experienced cricketers and young colts.

Sri Lanka:

Skipper Dasun Shanaka is coming to Antigua late due to visa issues and will most likely be under quarantine. Angelo Matthews is likely to take his place as head of the team.

Head to Head

West Indies: 5

Sri Lanka: 6

Players to watch out for (T20I stats)

Chris Gayle:

Matches: 58 | Runs: 1627 | Avg: 32.54 | SR: 142.84 | HS: 117

Angelo Matthews:

Matches: 75 | Runs: 1119 | Avg: 26.64 | SR: 118.66 | HS: 81

Kieron Pollard:

Runs: 1226|Wickets: 37 |AVG: 26.2

Probable Playing XI

West Indies:

Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Jason Holder, Fabian Allen, Fidel Edwards, Obed McCoy, Akeal Hosein

Sri Lanka:

Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Matthews, Oshada Fernando, Thisara Perera, Wanindu, Dushmantha, Nuwan Pradeep, Dananjay, Suranga Lakmal