West Indies vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Preview – Stats, Players to Watch Out & More

Both the teams will come out all guns blazing to clinch the series decider.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 28 March 2021 07:34 PM

CPEL (7)

Match Details

Date: March 29-April 3, 2021

Time: 7:30 PM IST

Venue: Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua


After a thrilling first Test which ultimately ended in a draw, the second contest between West Indies and Sri Lanka is now set to be the series decider. The series is very well poised for another amazing 5-day game in Antigua.

The fast bowlers had a lot to say in the previous contest with Jason Holder and Suranga Lakmal bagging 5-wicket hauls. But the contest was all about the fight that batsmen showed on a difficult wicket in Antigua. After conceding a 102-run lead in the first innings, the visitors showed utmost resilience to make their way back into the contest.

Debutant Pathum Nissanka (103 off 252) scored a gritty century while Oshada Fernando (91 off 149) and Niroshan Dickwella (96 off 163) also played their part. For the hosts, it was Nkrumah Bonner (113* off 274) who stepped up to ensure a draw on the final day of a grueling 5-day match.

With so many exciting talents in both camps raring to prove their mettle, it is going to be an epic final showdown at the iconic Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, starting on March 29.

Head to head (in last 5 Tests):

West Indies: 1

Sri Lanka: 2

Draw: 2

Players to watch out for:

Lahiru Thirimanne:

Matches: 1 | Runs: 146 | Avg: 73 | SR: 38.32

Nkrumah Bonner:

Matches: 1 | Runs: 144 | Avg: 144 | SR: 42.73

Kemar Roach:

Matches: 1 | Wickets: 6 | Avg: 20.17 | ER: 2.81

Suranga Lakmal:

Matches: 1 | Wickets: 5 | Avg: 16 | ER: 1.60

Probable Playing XI

West Indies

Kraigg Brathwaite (c), John Campbell, Nkrumah Bonner, Kyle Mayers, Jermaine Blackwood, Jason Holder, Joshua Da Silva (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Rakheem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Shannon Gabriel

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Lasith Embuldeniya


Join our Family Today!