WFI nominates 4 wrestlers for Arjuna Award; Olympic-bound Ravi Dahiya and Deepak Punia feature on the list

In the lifetime achievement category (Dronacharya), the names of Jagroop Rathi, R K Hooda and R S Kundu have been nominated.

Rohan GulatyAuthor

Updated - 30 June 2021 07:13 PM


The Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) has confirmed the names of wrestlers they have nominated for the prestigious 'Arjuna Award' which is one of the sports honour in India. With so many talented wrestlers in the country, it was never going to be an easy task for the federation to choose among them for the nominations. However, they have selected the best 4 candidates who have been at top of their game in recent times, bringing laurels for the country.

Anshu Malik and Sarita Mor rewarded for recent triumphs

WFI nominated two Olympic-bound wrestlers Ravi Dahiya and Deepak Punia who will be representing India in Tokyo in 57 kg and 86 kg categories respectively. They are two of the best wrestlers in the country right now and will be in contention to secure a medal in the Summer Games. While Dahiya had recently defended his Asian title in Almaty, Punia won the silver medal in 2019 World Wrestling Championships.

The federation has also nominated 2021 Asian Championship winners Anshu Malik (57 kg category) and Sarita Mor (59 kg category) for their exceptional performances in women's wrestling circuit.  “All four wrestlers have done well and deserve recognition, so we have sent their application," WFI Assistant Secretary Vinod Tomar told PTI.

Nominations for other awards

In addition, WFI have also nominated coaches Vikram, Kuldeep Malik and Sujeet Maan for the Dronacharya award. In the lifetime achievement category (Dronacharya), names of Jagroop Rathi, R K Hooda and R S Kundu have been recommended. Meanwhile, names of Sajjan Singh, Jai Prakash, and Dushyant Sharma have been sent for the Dhyanchand award.


Join our Family Today!