Trending News

What is the acquiring cost of each of the IPL franchises from 2008 to 2021?

As many as two new IPL franchises were welcomed to the tournament on Monday with a due team bidding process taking place in Dubai.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 26 October 2021 1:08 pm

Ever since the inception of the Indian Premier League, cricket has not been the same. Franchise-based T20 leagues have started around the world based on the IPL format and world cricket wants to feed on the success of IPL which is only breaking records year after year.

A mere glimpse at the acquiring cost of each of the Indian Premier League franchises since the inception of the tournament in 2008 to date is enough indication of where the tournament is heading and how much profit the investors sense it can make in times to come.

As many as two new IPL franchises were welcomed to the tournament on Monday with a due team bidding process taking place in Dubai. Here the highest bidders were awarded the franchise and the BCCI will be receiving a cumulative sum of over INR 12,000 crores for the sale of the two new franchises ahead of the 2022 season from when it will become a 10-team affair.

Check out the acquiring cost of IPL franchise since 2008 to present:
Serial No IPL Franchise Name Cost (in INR)
1 Mumbai Indians 447.6 Crores
2 Royal Challengers Bangalore 446 Crores
3 Deccan Chargers 428 Crores
4 Chennai Super Kings 364 Crores
5 Delhi Daredevils/Delhi Capitals 336 Crores
6 Kings XI Punjab/Punjab Kings 304 Crores
7 Kolkata Knight Riders 300 Crores
8 Rajasthan Royals 268 Crores
9 Kochi Tuskers Kerala 1533 Crores
10 Pune Warriors India 1702 Crores
11 Ahmedabad (Name yet to be announced) 5652 Crores
12 Lucknow (Name yet to be announced) 7090 Crores

Franchises like the Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals, SunRisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings and Rajasthan Royals have been part of the league since the inception of the tournament. While the Hyderabad franchise is known by the name of Deccan Chargers who won the competition in 2009, they later came to be known as the SunRisers Hyderabad after there was a change in the ownership of the team.

Later in 2010, there was the addition of two new teams in the competition – Pune Warriors India as well as the Kochi Tuskers Kerala. The competition did become a ten-team affair for a few years during that phase. However, later Kochi Tuskers Kerala was terminated after it breached BCCI’s conditions and Pune Warriors India also withdrew from the tournament in 2013 over differences over financial terms with the host cricket board.

There is set to be a mega auction ahead of IPL 2022 which will allow the new entrants an equal chance of getting a core group of players around which their teams can revolve in the coming cycle.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60