IPL-WEB-mi (1)

Picture Credit: IPL/BCCI

The first game of the doubleheader on Saturday is being played between Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals. While most fans, as well as cricket experts, had anticipated that Suryakumar Yadav would be in the Mumbai Indians' XI after missing out on a place in the side in their opening match against Delhi Capitals, captain Rohit Sharma announced that they are going ahead with the same side as in their previous match.

The five-time champions have won the toss and have opted to field first in this 3:30 pm IST start at the Dr DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. Their decision to leave out SKY might have surprised a few fans and raised a few eyebrows, however, the decision has been taken as the right-handed batter continues to recover from a finger injury he sustained during the home series against West Indies.

Although earlier reports had suggested that he has been cleared by the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore, the team management perhaps does not want to rush him into the starting XI.

Mumbai Indians' Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Anmolpreet Singh, N Tilak Varma, Kieron Pollard, Tim David, Daniel Sams, M Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Tymal Mills, Basil Thampi

Meanwhile, Rajasthan Royals too have left out Nathan Coulter-Nile who sustained an injury during the team's first match in IPL 2022. The Men in Pink have drafted in Navdeep Saini instead of the Australian, implying they are only playing three overseas players in this match.

Rajasthan Royals' Playing XI: Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson(c & wk), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Trent Boult, Navdeep Saini, Prasidh Krishna