Why was Shubman Gill given not out in IPL 2021 Final despite getting caught by Ambati Rayudu?

With so much confusion around, the replays were shown on the big screen which clarified everything.

Rohan Gulaty Author

Updated - 15 October 2021 11:02 pm

After such a roller-coaster season of Indian Premier League, there was no doubt that we were set for some drama and entertainment in the finals on Friday. However, no one could have ever imagined what was about to happen at such a crucial juncture during the match between KKR and CSK in Dubai. After MS Dhoni and Co. posted a huge total of 192/3 in 20 overs, the Men in Purple needed a slice of luck while chasing the target.

The moment came but in some really controversial circumstances. With Dwayne Bravo bowling a couple of tight overs in the middle, KKR needed some big hits with both openers settled in the middle. The duo targeted Ravindra Jadeja and this is when something very rare happened during the 10th over.

Drama in IPL 2021 Final

On the 3rd delivery, Shubman Gill skied the ball high up in the air and was eventually caught by Ambati Rayudu, who seemed to have lost the ball for a moment. Gill was out and CSK had got the crucial breakthrough however he was asked to wait by the umpires.

With so much confusion around, the replays were shown on the big screen which clarified everything. The ball had, unfortunately, hit the spider cam before going into the hands of Ambati Rayudu, which was the reason behind the CSK fielder losing the trajectory. As a result, the umpires were forced to call it a 'dead ball' and Gill got a second life of the day.

Watch the video here:

As it happened, Gill took full advantage as he added salt to the wound by hitting two back-to-back boundaries in the over. However, CSK managed to break the partnership in the next over after Shardul Thakur sent Venkatesh Iyer back to the pavilion.