Trending News

WI vs IND 1st T20I Stats Review: Check out impressive feat achieved by Rohit Sharma and much more

Rohit Sharma played 50th match as captain of India in international cricket.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 30 July 2022 10:47 am


India defeated West Indies by a big margin of 68 runs in 1st T20I match at Trinidad with the help of Rohit Sharma’s 64 and Dinesh Karthik’s brilliant finish at the end. West Indies batters got crumbled in the run-chase and were reduced to 122/8 at end of their innings. Arshdeep Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravi Bishnoi picked two wickets to their name while Ravindra Jadeja and Bhuvneshwar Kumar got one wicket each.

Initially, India made a surprising move to open the batting with Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer but the latter couldn’t replicate his ODI form with the bat as he got out for duck by Obed McCoy in 6th over of the innings. West Indies strategy to go with only one spinner Akeal Hosein didn’t work. Although, he bowled an impressive spell of 1/14 in his 4 overs, he could have got more support from another spinner like Hayden Walsh at the other end.

Numbers and stats from WI vs IND 1st T20I:

2 – Rohit Sharma surpassed MS Dhoni to become second highest run-scorer as captain of India in men’s T20I.

Most runs as captain of India in men’s T20I:

Virat Kohli – 1570 (46 inns)
Rohit Sharma – 1117 (32 inns)
MS Dhoni – 1112 (62 inns)

3 – Shreyas Iyer got dismissed without scoring a run for the third time in his T20I career.

Instances of Shreyas Iyer getting dismissed for a duck in T20Is:

vs SL in Indore, 2017
vs AUS in Sydney, 2020
vs WI in Trinidad, 2022

4 – Dinesh Karthik won MoM award for the fourth time in his T20I career overall.

Instances of Dinesh Karthik winning MoM award in his T20I career:

vs SA in Johannesburg, 2006
vs BAN in Colombo-RPS, 2018
vs SA in Rajkot, 2022
vs WI in Trinidad, 2022

5 – Rishabh Pant becomes 5th player to complete 1000 international runs in 2022 in men’s cricket.

Most international runs for men’s cricket in 2022:

Jonny Bairstow – 1250
Litton Das – 1214
Babar Azam – 1184
Joe Root – 1025
Rishabh Pant – 1002

6 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar has bowled 6 maiden overs in T20Is overall.

Most maiden overs bowled in men’s T20I:

Jasprit Bumrah – 9
Bhuvneshwar Kumar – 6
Harbhajan Singh – 5

10 – Rohit Sharma as captain won 10 out of 10 games against West Indies in international cricket.

31 – Rohit Sharma has went past Virat Kohli to smash most fifty-plus (31) scores in men’s T20I.

Most fifty-plus scores in men’s T20I:

Rohit Sharma – 31
Virat Kohli – 30
Babar Azam – 27
David Warner – 23
Martin Guptill – 22

Rohit Sharma has also surpassed Martin Guptill (3399) to become the highest run-scorer in men’s T20I currently.

Most runs in men’s T20I:

Rohit Sharma – 3443 (121 inns)
Martin Guptill – 3399 (112 inns)
Virat Kohli – 3308 (91 inns)

50 – Rohit Sharma played 50th match as captain of India in international cricket.

68 – India won this T20I match by 68 runs.

Largest margin of win by runs for India in men’s T20I outside India:

143 vs Ireland in Dublin, 2018
90 vs England in Colombo-RPS, 2012
76 vs Ireland in Dublin, 2018
73 vs Australia in Mirpur, 2014
68 vs West Indies in Trinidad, 2022

122 – Dinesh Karthik in death overs (17-20) of T20I game has smashed 122 runs at S.R of 196.77

Most runs for India in death overs (17-20) of men’s T20I game in a calendar year:

MS Dhoni – 162 in 2012
Virat Kohli – 143 in 2016
Virat Kohli – 141 in 2017
MS Dhoni – 132 in 2016
Virat Kohli – 128 in 2019
Dinesh Karthik – 122 in 2022

Most runs for India in death overs of men’s T20I:

MS Dhoni – 856 runs (S.R : 160.6)
Virat Kohli – 538 runs (S.R : 193.52)
Hardik Pandya – 453 runs (S.R : 186.41)
Suresh Raina – 390 runs (S.R : 171.05)
Yuvraj Singh – 311 runs (S.R : 199.35)
Dinesh Karthik – 302 runs (S.R : 198.68)

649 – Rohit Sharma has smashed most runs (649) vs West Indies in T20Is.

Most runs against an opponent in men’s T20I:

Virat Kohli – 718 vs AUS
Rohit Sharma – 649 vs WI
David Warner – 642 vs SL

2018 – Before this match, the last time Suryakumar Yadav played as an opener in a T20 game was way back in 2018. In 2018 IPL edition, Suryakumar Yadav as an opener scored 441 runs from 12 innings at a batting average of 36.75 with strike rate of 136.11.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story