Trending News

Ballon d’Or 2021: Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski, Jorginho named among others in 30-man shortlist

The prize will be awarded for both men's and women's football categories at Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on November 29.

Abhinav Goel Author

Updated - 9 October 2021 12:56 pm

Lewandowski, Messi, Ronaldo and Jorginho

Six-time winner Lionel Messi and five-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo were among the players named on the 30-man shortlist for the men’s 2021 Ballon d’Or award. The duo are among the leading contenders for the prize along with Robert Lewandowski, Jorginho and N’Golo Kante. Notably, Ballon d’Or is the most coveted individual prize in football.

Messi ended his wait for a major international trophy when he won the Copa America with Argentina in the summer, while Kante and Jorginho both helped Chelsea win the Champions League. There are five Chelsea players in total on the list, including captain Cesar Azpilicueta. There are also five nominees from Premier League champions Manchester City.

Some other notable names on the list include Neymar, Kylian Mbappe, Erling Haaland, Mohamed Salah, Kevin De Bruyne, Harry Kane, Luis Suarez and Karim Benzema.

Check out the official announcement:

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski was widely expected to scoop last year’s award but the prestigious award was cancelled by organisers due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Lewandowski enjoyed a sensational 2020-21 Bundesliga campaign as he scored 41 goals in 29 appearances for Bayern.

The prize will be awarded for both men’s and women’s football categories on November 29 at Theatre du Chatelet in Paris. 20 women players have also been shortlisted for women’s football category. Notably, there was no place on the list for the United States star Megan Rapinoe, who won the prize in 2019.

Full list of Ballon d’Or nominees


Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)


Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

Simon Kjær (AC Milan)

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City)


N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)

Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

Pedri (Barcelona)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

Jorginho (Chelsea)

Phil Foden (Manchester City)


Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

Lionel Messi (PSG)

Neymar (PSG)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

Women’s Ballon d’Or 2021 award nominees

Kadidiatou Diani (PSG)

Fran Kirby (Chelsea)

Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona)

Christiane Endler (Lyon)

Christine Sinclair (Thorns FC)

Ashley Lawrence (PSG)

Irene Paredes (PSG, Barcelona)

Jessie Fleming (Chelsea)

Lieke Martens (Barcelona)

Sandra Panos ( Barcelona)

Viviane Miedema (Arsenal)

Ellen White (Manchester City)

Pernille Harder (Chelsea )

Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage)

Wendie Renard (LyonL)

Marie-Antoinette Katoto (PSG)

Stina Blackstenius (Häcken)

Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea)

Sam Kerr (Chelsea)

Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story