Trending News

Chess Super League: All you need to know – Dates, Squads, Team Owners, Live Streaming and Lot More

Here is everything you need to know about the inaugural edition of Chess Super league.

Rohan Gulaty Author

Updated - 6 October 2021 7:40 pm

Chess Super League Teams

With so much craze growing around the sport of Chess in last couple of years, it’s probably the right time for the launch of a never-seen-like before tournament in this sport which will be called as ‘Chess Super League’. Samay Raina, ChessBase India and Nodwin Gaming have come together to make this dream a reality for all the aspiring players and fans and there is already a lot of excitement among everyone.

While a lot of information is being constantly revealed by the organizers on a regular basis, most of the important stuff around the tournament has already been disclosed. Here is everything you need to know about the inaugural edition of Chess Super league:

When will the tournament be held?

The event will take place from October 11 to October 17 (8 to 11 PM).

What will be the format?

Chess Super League will be played on the platform in an online rapid format. There will be time control of 15 minutes with 10-second increment.

How many teams will participate in the event?

There will be 6 teams (of 6 players each) in the competition who will lock horns with each other to become the ultimate champions. The names of teams, owners and participants are as follows:

Team 1: Kingslayers

Owner: Tanmay Bhat

Squad: Anish Giri, Arpita Mukherjee, D Gukesh, Nana Dzagnidze, Soumya Swaminathan, S.P. Sethuraman

Team 2: Krazy Knights

Owner: Biswa Kalyan Rath

Squad: Aryan Chopra, Hikaru Nakamura, Krishnan Sasikiran, Mariya Muzychuk, Mary Ann Gomes, Mrudul Dehankar

Team 3: Pivotal Pawns

Owner: Zakir Khan

Squad: Abhijeet Gupta, Arjun Kalyan, Bhakti Kulkarni, Ding Liren, Savitha Shri, Zhansaya Abdumalik

Team 4: Brutal Bishops

Owner: Raftaar (Kalamkaar)

Squad: Alexandra Kosteniuk, Eesha Karavade, Raunak Sadhwani, Tarini Goyal, Vidit Gujrathi, Wang Hao

Team 5: Ruthless Rooks

Owner: S8UL Esports (MortaL)

Squad: Anna Muzychuk, Harika Dronavalli, Harshit Raja, Karthikeyan Murali, Saina Salonika, Teimour Radjabov

Team 6: Quintessential Queens

Owners: Saina Nehwal and Suhani Shah

Squad: Hou Yifan, Humpy Koneru, P Iniyan, Priyanka K, Sergey Karjakin, Tania Sachdev

What is the prize pool of the tournament?

A total prize pool of INR 40 lakhs has been announced for the Chess Super League.

Where can fans watch live streaming of matches?

The matches of Chess Super League will be streamed live on Samay Raina’s YouTube channel.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story
Dafa Ads 400x60