Picture Credit: Twitter/@ICC

The finals of inaugural edition of World Test Championship (2019-21 cycle) is less than a week away and there is a lot of excitement in the build-up to the historic match between India and New Zealand. After battling out against the top teams across the globe, the fight for the ultimate glory will be between the top two ranked teams in Test, led by two of the most charismatic leaders in Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson.

While there is a sense of pride and glory attached to the mega contest, there is a whopping prize money as well for the winners which would certainly add to the motivation of the players as well as the respective boards of the countries.

Prize money to be split in case of a draw

The WTC final is set to be played from June 18 at Ageas Bowl in Southampton. While there is a lot of buzz around the game, there was still no clarity about the prize money for the champions. All the doubts have now been put to rest as ICC CEO Geoff Allardice announced the same.

He confirmed that the winner of the World Test Championship will receive a prize money of US $1.6 million (INR 11.7 crore) while the runners-up will receive $800,000 (INR 5.85 crore). In case of a draw, the prize money will be split between both India and New Zealand and they will receive US $1.2 million (INR 8.75 crore) each.

Along with this, the winning team will also be taking home the Championship mace, as stated by Geoff Allardice.