Picture Credit: Twitter/BCCI

The Selection Committee has already announced India’s 20-member squad for the World Test Championship finals, scheduled to take place in June this year. Although the Board of Control for Cricket In India (BCCI) has to truncate the Indian Premier League midway, owing to the rise in COVID cases, the WTC final is still on the cards. It’s not only this, India will take on England in the five-match Test series after the WTC final before returning to their country.

Team India to begin quarantine from May 25 ahead of WTC final

In the latest update coming from the sources, the Indian contingent is likely to gather on May 25 and will undergo mandatory 8-day quarantine before heading to the UK. The team will leave for England on June 2 ahead of the WTC final. However, families can also accompany the players as they head for a long tour to the UK in June, according to a BCCI official.

However, “the team will be allowed to do 10-day quarantine with training”, stated a BCCI official as saying to ANI.

Squads for India and New Zealand for WTC Final

India: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, H. Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), R. Ashwin, R. Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav. KL Rahul & Wriddhiman Saha (WK) subject to fitness clearance.

Also Read | India’s squad for World Test Championship final against New Zealand

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Rachin Ravindra, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Tom Blundell, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling (wk), Tom Latham, Daryll Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel, Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Will Young