Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

New Zealand have named their 15-man squad for the two-match Test series against India. Left-arm pacer Trent Boult and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme have made themselves unavailable for the Test series due to the prospect of further time in bio-secure bubbles. Pacers Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and Kyle Jamieson have been included while Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel and Will Somerville will lead the spin attack.

Kane Williamson will lead the side while all-rounder Rachin Ravindra could make his Test debut in the series slated to start from November 25. Tom Blundell has been picked for wicketkeeping duties after BJ Watling's retirement earlier this year.

“Trent has already spent the best part of 60 days in hard-managed isolation this year, while Colin had been on the road since May until recently returning home from Pakistan. From talking to both players it was clear the best option for them was to be left out of this Test tour and for them to instead focus on being ready for the New Zealand home summer," New Zealand coach Gary Stead said in a statement.

“Touring India is one of the greatest experiences in cricket and I know our guys are really looking forward to the challenge. It’s fair to say we’re expecting spin-friendly conditions and it’s great to have a range of options in this department,” Stead added.

Check out the official announcement here:

The first Test will be played in Kanpur from November 25 to 29. Notably, this will be the first meeting between the two teams in Test cricket since the WTC final in June. The second Test will be played in Mumbai from December 3 to 7.

Meanwhile, the Kiwi squad currently participating in the men’s T20 World Cup will be the team for the 3-match T20I series against India. The three T20Is will be played on November 17, 19 and 21.

NZ squad for Tests: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell (wicketkeeper), Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Will Somerville, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner and Will Young