aaron hardie nz vs aus t20is

Picture Credit: X

In a big update ahead of the New Zealand T20Is, Australia have been handed a major blow as Aaron Hardie has become the latest member to be ruled out of the series with injury. The Australian cricketer sustained a minor calf issue, ruling him out of the upcoming T20I series, which begins Wednesday, February 21 in Wellington. 

It is to be noted that Aaron Hardie was called in as a replacement of Marcus Stoinis after the latter succumbed to a back injury. But Hardie, who is currently featuring in the Sheffield Shield, complained of calf tightness, leading to his withdrawal from the New Zealand series. 

“He’s got a tight calf. It’s more precautionary. He’ll bat if required. Hopefully, it’s nothing too significant, Western Australia coach Adam Voges spoke as quoted by ESPNcricinfo. However, Cricket Australia have confirmed Spencer Johnson’s inclusion in the side as Hardie’s replacement. Moreover, Matthew Wade will also miss the opening game, due to the birth of his third child and will join the side ahead of the second T20I in Auckland.

Australia’s squad for NZ T20Is:

Mitchell Marsh (C), Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Spencer Johnson.

Matt Henry, Tim Seifert ruled out of T20I series against Australia

Not only Australia, New Zealand’s injury riddled squad has also received more blows as Matt Henry and Tim Seifert have been ruled out of the series with their respective injuries. While Henry complained of hip soreness post South Africa series, Tim Seifert torn his abductor during Northern District’s training session.

To fill in their void, New Zealand Cricket has called in Wellington’s pace bowler Ben Sears and Central Districts’ batter Will Young. “Matt’s understandably disappointed, but a break for the T20s will ensure he’s fully fit and ready to go for the Tests against Australia later this month. We’re gutted for Tim who has been a strong performer over recent series and is an important part of the squad,” Head Coach Gary Stead as quoted by ICC.

New Zealand squad for AUS T20Is:

Mitchell Santner (C), Finn Allen, Trent Boult (Games 2 and 3), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Game 1), Will Young.