Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

In a big update, Delhi Capitals have finally announced Rishabh Pant’s replacement for the upcoming edition of IPL 2023. It has been reported that Bengal wicketkeeper-batter Abhishek Porel will replace Rishabh Pant in the Delhi Capitals squad.


Pant, who survived a horrific car accident is currently recovering from the injuries he sustained. However, his return to the cricket field remains uncertain, the franchise has named a like-for-like replacement for the star player. The news was confirmed as a PTI journalist shared the update via Twitter.

The journalist also added that Sarfaraz Khan is likely to start for the first few games of DC before Porel takes the field in IPL 2023.

The franchise had earlier named David Warner as their skipper for the 2023 edition of the tournament, with Axar Patel taking the deputy role in the Delhi Capitals squad.  The southpaw does not only have experience leading an IPL team but also boasts of great numbers as a captain. In 67 matches played as captain, Warner has won 35. The Australian batter also led Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden title in 2016. 

DC IPL 2023 Squad:  David Warner (C),  Axar Patel (VC), Prithvi Shaw, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Phil Salt, Ishant Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rilee Rossouw, Ripal Patel, Abhishek Porel