Abu Dhabi T10 League organisers launch 'Lanka T10 League', tournament to begin in June 2023

The tournament is set to begin in June next year.

SportsTiger StaffAuthor

Updated - 23 November 2022 06:09 PM


After tasting the success of the Abu Dhabi T10 League, the organisers of the tournament have launched a new tournament which is set to be played in Sri Lanka. Named 'Lanka T0 League', the tournament will follow the same format as Abu Dhabi T10 and will begin in June 2023. 

It's also said that the tournament will also host both a men's and women's tournament in the same slot first - meaning matches would take place "concurrently," potentially on alternating days. However, more details are to be divulged by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC).   SLC also announced that six men's teams and four women's teams will take part, with each to be named after a Sri Lankan city - similar to those in the Lanka Premier League.

While the precise dates and venues are yet to be finalised, it is expected that venues in Kandy and Hambantota will likely host the matches, while SLC anticipates substantial player registrations - over 1600, which was the number for the most recent Abu Dhabi T10 League - for the yet to be announced player draft.  Each team will be allowed a 16-member squad, in which there can be a maximum of six foreign players.

The tournament will be held over 12 days in June next year. However, going forward it is understood that SLC will look to hold it in December, with the LPL set for the August window.

"Next year also we will have the LPL in December, but going forward we have reserved a window in August for that," SLC CEO Ashley de Silva said. "So for next year, we will have the Lanka T10 in June and the LPL in December, but from 2024 onwards, the T10 tournament will move to December and the LPL to August."


Join our Family Today!