Credit: Twitter

Credit: Twitter

Since moving from Sporting CP to Manchester United in January 2020, Bruno Fernandes has established himself as one of the top midfielders in the world. In 185 games for the Red Devils, the Portuguese playmaker has contributed 54 assists and 64 goals, earning him a reputation as a fan favourite and a team captain both on and off the football field.

Fernandes reportedly got more than two substantial offers from Saudi Arabia earlier this summer, so his future at Old Trafford wasn't always assured. According to Italian journalist Fabrizio Romano, the Saudi Pro League, which recently drew notable players like Karim Benzema, N'Golo Kante, and Kalidou Koulibaly, had its sights set on Fernandes.

However, Fernandes made it plain that he was pleased and dedicated to Manchester United and was not interested in moving to the Middle East. He extended his tenure with the team until June 2026 by signing a new contract in April last year.

Man United manager  Erik ten Hag has recognised Bruno for his loyalty and commitment by making him the new club captain for the 2023-24 season. Harry Maguire will be replaced by Fernandes after losing the starting position due to an ineffective season prior and speculation linking him to a move to Bayern Munich.

Fernandes has already donned the captain's hat a few times. In addition, he has been the Portugal team's captain on and off for quite a while. He was also the vice-captain of the Portugal team which won the 2019 UEFA Nations League Finals. On Thursday, Man United took to their Twitter handle and announced Bruno as their captain for the 2023-24 season.

As he leads Manchester United into a new era under Ten Hag, Fernandes will be looking to motivate his teammates and supporters with his talents, enthusiasm, and charisma. This summer's arrivals have already been promising for the club, with Mason Mount from Chelsea and Andre Onana from Inter Milan. They will be looking for their first Premier League championship since 2013 and their first Champions League trophy since 2008 under Fernandes' leadership.