aus womens sportstiger

Australia Women's team continued their domination in the T20 World Cup once again after winning the title for 6th time out of 8 completed editions so far. The Women in Yellow defeated South Africa by 19 runs in the final to lift the title for record 6th time. It was Meg Lanning's 4th T20 WC title as captain. She has now become the captain with most ICC trophies (5). 

Here in this article, we will have a look at list of winners in T20 WC so far over the years and records created by AUS-Women's team in the T20 World Cups. 

2 - Australia-Women's team have remained unbeaten throughout a T20 WC edition for 2nd time overall.

Teams remaining unbeaten in a Women's T20 WC edition:
England in 2009
Australia in 2010
Australia in 2023

Notably, for first time host nation has lost a Women's WC final (T20I/ODI).
Overall, 7 times host nation has reached the final of WC (In ODI/T20I) and in those 6 previous instances the host nation has ended up in winning side.

2 - Beth Mooney is the only player to smash two fifty-plus scores in a T20 WC final.

Beth Mooney's fifty-plus scores in Women's T20 WC finals:
78*(54) vs IND-W in Melbourne, 2020
74*(53) vs SA-W in Cape Town, 2023

Beth Mooney has scored 166 runs from 3 innings in Women's T20 WC finals at an impressive S.R of 136.06

2 - Player of the Tournament Ashleigh Gardner has become 2nd player after Deandra Dottin to score 100-plus runs (110) and pick 10-plus wickets (10) in a single Women's T20 WC edition.

4 - Meg Lanning as skipper won 4 T20 WC trophies in 8 different editions.

Captains to win Women's T20 WC:
2009 - Charlotte Edwards
2010 - Alex Blackwell
2012 - Jodie Fields
2014 - Meg Lanning
2016 - Stafanie Taylor
2018 - Meg Lanning
2020 - Meg Lanning
2023 - Meg Lanning

Meg Lanning as captain has won hat-trick of titles in Women's T20 WC in 2018, 2020 & 2023 respectively. Notably, she became first Player to reach the milestone of playing 100 games as Captain in T20Is today.

Meg Lanning has also become first Player to win five ICC trophies (5) as captain including ODI WC 2022.

6 - Australian Women's team have won T20 WC for 6th time.

Women's T20 WC Winners:
2009 - England
2010 - Australia
2012 - Australia
2014 - Australia
2016 - West Indies
2018 - Australia
2020 - Australia
2023 - Australia 

Two times AUS-Women team have won hat-trick of T20 WC titles.

6 - Australia Women's team become first team to win six matches in a single Women's T20 WC edition.

Australia Women's team in T20 WC 2023:
Defeated NZ-Women team by 97 runs
Defeated BAN-Women team by 8 wickets
Defeated SL-Women team by 10 wickets
Defeated SA-Women team by 6 wickets
Defeated IND-Women team by 5 runs (SF)
Defeated SA-Women team by 19 runs (F)

7 - Australian-Women's team have won all 7 out of 7 games against South Africa-Women's team in T20Is.

Most wins against an Opponent in Women's T20 WC:
Australia-W : 7 vs South Africa-W

England-W : 6 vs India-W
New Zealand-W : 6 vs Sri Lanka-W

13 - Australian Women's team have won 13 ICC World Cup Trophies overall in 20 different editions.

AUS Women's team in 
T20 WC - Won 6 trophies in 8 editions
ODI WC - Won 7 trophies in 12 editions

Australia-Women's team have won ODI WC in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005, 2013 & 2022 respectively.