Credit: X

Credit: X

The Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) is set to organise a  High-Performance Monitoring Programme for the 2024-25 domestic cricket season at the National Cricket Academy with  30-odd players ahead of the 2024-25 domestic season. The camp is set to include big names Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan, after their omission from the central contracts and give the duo a chance to possibly get back into the national team.

Iyer and Kishan were dropped from the central contracts for ignoring their domestic duties in the Ranji Trophy. But now the duo is given a chance to right their mistakes through this camp and the upcoming domestic season. The development was confirmed by the Times of India, which also revealed that the camp will be one month long at a new state-of-the-art NCA facility near Bengaluru under VVS Laxaman's supervision.

BCCI pick Shreyas & Ishan among 30 players for High-Performance Programme

TOI quoted a BCCI source, who shared, "The BCCI, or the national selection committee has nothing against Iyer and Kishan. If they improve their attitude towards domestic cricket and turn out for their state teams (Mumbai and Jharkhand) In the forthcoming domestic season, there's every chance that their central contracts will be restored and they will be recalled Into the Indian team, if they perform well. This is a signal to them that they are on the radar of the selectors."

"At some stage (dates aren't finalised) these 30 selected players for NCA's high-performance programme are likely to undergo around a month-long camp at the new state-of-the-art NCA facility near Bengaluru under chairman VVS Laxman. The new NCA will be launched by the BCCI In August. Most of these players have done well in domestic cricket," the source added.

Apart from Iyer and Kishan, some of the names that emerged for this camp are pacers Mayank Yadav, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Sen, Harshit Rana, Khaleel Ahmed, Tushar Deshpande. Similarly, batters like Riyan Parag, Ashutosh Sharma, Sai Sudharsan, Devdutt Padikkal, Prithvi Shaw, and Musheer Khan. The spinners picked for this camp are Sai Kishore, Shams Mulani and Tanush Kotian.