best wins in wc history sportstiger

Picture Credit: Twitter

In the 12 editions of ICC ODI World Cup which happened from 1975 to 2019, there have been a lot of exciting matches which have  happened in the past. Not only this, but with the evolution of T20 format over the years, there have been a lot of challenging games for all teams who have played in this tournament. Initially in the first three World Cup editions, teams used to play a 60-over contest and later in the 1987 ODI WC, teams were seen playing the 50 overs contest and notably, the 1990s period saw teams playing with coloured jerseys for the first time.

Indian fans have been witness of a lot of wonderful moments in World Cup history, celebrating their cricketing idols like Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma over the years and alongside that they have also had an opportunity to witness many edge of the seat matches which would stand in the memories of each and every cricket fan for a very long period of time. 

Here in this article, we will have a look at five of those best contests in the tournament history so far.

1. India vs Australia in 1987 WC (Chennai)

ind vs aus 1987

Indian team way back in the 1987 ODI World Cup also played their first game of the tournament against Australia in Chennai after winning the title in previous WC edition in 1983. Talking about this match, India winning the match invited Australia to bat first and they managed to post a total of 270/6 in 50 overs with the help of century from Geoff Marsh. 

Indian team chasing 271 runs got off to a solid start as both Kris Srikkanth (70) and Navjot Singh Sidhu (73) played a crucial role to ensure India were at a comfortable position, but unfortunately from 207/2 they ended up getting bundled out for a total of just 269 runs and ended up losing the game by just 1 run. India needing just 2 runs to win from last 2 balls with one wicket in hand unfortunately went onto lose the game as the last man Maninder Singh got bowled to Steve Waugh.

AUS - 270/6 (50)

Geoff Marsh - 110 (141); Manoj Prabhakar - 2/47 (10)

IND - 269 (49.5)

Navjot Singh Sidhu - 73(79); Craig McDermott - 4/56 (10)

Kris Srikkanth - 70(83); Steve Waugh - 2/52 (9.5)

Geoff Marsh won Player of the Match award for his century.