Credit: X

Credit: X

India, regarded as one of the strongest teams in the global cricketing scenario, headed into the 2024 edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to win the coveted title they had once won in 2007. India is one of the full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC) and is one of the nine teams to have participated in all the editions of the tournament. The Men in Blue took down Pakistan in finale of the inaugural season to lift the first-ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. 

Over the years and editions, India have had curvy campaigns in the marquee tournament, and are still yet to join West Indies and England in the ‘Two-time T20 WC winners’ club’.

India's performance in T20 World Cup over the years

Let’s have a look at how India have been able to perform in the tournament over the years. 


t20 world cup 2007 sportstiger

In the inaugural edition of the tournament, former India skipper MS Dhoni held team’s reins for the first time and guided the side to a glorious victory. A young Indian team took down arch rivals Pakistan by a margin of five runs in the finale in Johannesburg to be crowned first-ever T20 world champions.