dane van niekerk sportstiger

Picture Credit: Twitter

Cricket South Africa has omitted long-term women’s team captain Dane van Niekerk from their Women's T20 World Cup squad. The board stated that the all-rounder has failed to meet the fitness requirements. Sune Luus will lead the team in the absence of van Niekerk, who was also out for last year’s ODI World Cup after suffering a broken ankle in January last year.

Follow Women's T20 Cup live scores and updates on SportsTiger app and website.

South Africa will take on Sri Lanka in Cape Town on February 10 to start their World Cup campaign. The Proteas are grouped with New Zealand, Bangladesh and reigning champions Australia in Group A. Women's selection convener Clinton du Preez addressed the reasons behind dropping van Niekerk and talked about how the 29-year-old failed to hit the minimum criteria despite multiple chances to prove her fitness. 

The statement said, "Dane was given an extensive opportunity to meet the minimum criteria or the fitness benchmark for eligibility into the World Cup. She recently did another fitness test and unfortunately did not meet the minimum criteria, and therefore she's missed out.”

"Dane did not meet the minimum requirement for the 2-kilometre time trial. The management assisted her into trying to get there but she did not meet the minimum requirement. The skill set of Dane as a cricketer will always be missed on the cricket field. We have reminded her of that. We also appreciate the effort she tried to put into meeting the fitness level."

Chloe Tryon has been named vice-captain of the team as other veteran stars like Lizelle Lee and Mignon du Preez were also dropped. Both these players are part of the team in their previous World Cup. Van Niekerk also reacted to this news by sharing a tweet that said, ‘Broken’.

South Africa Women’s Squad: 

Sune Luus (c), Chloe Tryon (vice-capt), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Laura Wolvaardt, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Delmi Tucker, Annerie Dercksen.

Non-travelling reserves: Micaela Andrews, Tebogo Macheke, Tumi Sekhukhune

Download SportsTiger app for the latest sports news and updates.