Former India pacer Vinay Kumar announces retirement from all forms of cricket

Former India seamer Vinay Kumar has announced his retirement from all forms of cricket on Friday.

Nived ZenithAuthor

Updated - 26 February 2021 05:14 PM

2 (4)

Former India fast bowler Vinay Kumar has announced his retirement from all forms of cricket at the age of 37. The Karnataka stalwart decided to let the world know about his decision via Twitter.

Vinay Kumar, who played 1 Test, 31 ODIs and 9 T20Is for India between 2010 and 2013, has an enviable record at domestic level. The seamer scalped 504 wickets in 139 first-class matches and also lifted the Ranji Trophy with Karnataka in 2013/14 and 2014/15.

In his retirement tweet, Vinay Kumar thanked everyone that played a part in his career that spanned 25 years.

Here's the tweet

“Today “Davangere Express” after running for 25 years and passing so many stations of cricketing life, has finally arrived at a station called “Retirement”.

With a lot of mixed emotions, I, Vinay Kumar R, hereby announce my retirement from international and first-class cricket,” Vinay Kumar tweeted.

The 37-year-old also added it wasn’t an easy decision to make, but admits the time has come to hang up his boots.

“It is not an easy decision to make, however, there comes a time in every sportsperson’s life where one has to call it a day,” he added.

Vinay Kumar went on to remember the iconic Indian cricketers he played under during his career and counted it as a blessing.

“My cricketing experience has been enriched by playing under the great minds of Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid, MS Dhoni, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, and Rohit Sharma to name a few. Also, I was blessed to have Sachin Tendulkar as a mentor at Mumbai Indians,” Vinay Kumar wrote.

“I have been fortunate enough to represent my country at the highest level and give it all I had to this beautiful game. My journey has been filled with many moments that I will cherish lifelong,” he added.

Vinay Kumar has played over 100 IPL matches during his time with four franchises, including record-champions Mumbai Indians. The seamer last played for Puducherry at domestic level.


Join our Family Today!