Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

The Indian contingent has scripted history at the Tokyo Paralympics as they are set to return with a record tally in a single edition of the Paralympics. Not only did they better their record of the most number of medals in one season of the Games but they also won the most number of gold which made the Tokyo Paralympic Games all the more special.

While there are hopes and dreams of a billion-plus Indians resting on the Para-athletes, this time around more was expected from these athletes especially after India had already registered their best performance at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. However, the Paralympic Games has now even bettered the tally of the Olympic games and made 2021 a remarkable year for Indian sports.

India eventually won 19 medals which is now also the country's best at a multi-spot world event as India surpassed the tally of 13 registered at the Summer Youth Olympics in 2018. India also finished inside the top 25 in the medal table at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics as they went past their previous best tally by not one or two but 15 medals.

While the nation had won just 12 medals from its first-ever appearance in 1986 to 2016, they have now bagged 19 in this season alone. More interesting is the fact that India had only 19 athletes in their team when they won 4 medals at the Rio Paralympics and now they have won as many medals.

It would be fair to say that the country's largest contingent of 54 members lived up to all the expectations and as they bagged the record number of medals at the Paralympics.

There were multiple medallists for India this time around. While Avani Lekhara won a gold medal and a bronze medal in shooting, Singhraj also took a silver and bronze in the same sport. Avani will also be India's flag-bearer at the Paralympics closing ceremony after becoming the first woman gold medallist at the Paralympics or Olympics history.

Here is a list of all the medal-winners at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic games:

Gold medal winners at Tokyo 2020 Paralympics


S. NoName of AthleteDiscipline
1Avani LekharaWomen's 10m Air Rifle Shooting Standing SH1
2Sumit AntilMen's Javelin Throw F64
3Manish Narwal P4 Mixed 50m Pistol SH1
4Pramod Bhagat Badminton Men's Singles SL3
5Krishna Nagar Badminton Men's Singles SH6

Silver medal winners at Tokyo 2020 Paralympics


S. NoName of AthleteDiscipline
1Bhavinaben PatelWomen's Singles Table Tennis- Class 4
2Nishad KumarMen's High Jump T47
3Devendra JhajhariaMen's Javelin Throw F46
4Yogesh KathuniyaMen's Discus Throw F56
5Singhraj Adhana P4 Mixed 50m Pistol SH1
6Mariyappan ThangaveluMen's High Jump T63
7Praveen KumarMen's High Jump T64
8Suhas L. Yathiraj Badminton Men's Singles SL4

Bronze medal winners at Tokyo 2020 Paralympics

S.NoName of AthleteDiscipline
1Sundar Singh GurjarMen's Javelin Throw F46
2Singhraj AdhanaMen's 10m Air Pistol Shooting SH1
3Sharad KumarMen's High Jump T63
4Avani Lekhara Women's 50m Rifle 3 Positions Shooting SH1
5Harvinder SinghMen's Individual Recurve Archery
6Manoj SarkarBadminton Men's Singles SL3