Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

On September 18, Monday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India's squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Australia. Just yesterday, Team India won the Asia Cup 2023, after defeating Sri Lanka in the grand finale by 10 wickets, which will give them a huge boost to play highly competitive cricket against Australia, while putting final touches to their ODI World Cup 2023 preparations.

Also Read: Steve Smith, Pat Cummins return to Australia’s ODI squad for India series

The first ODI of the three-match series will be played at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on September 22, Friday. Just two days later, India and Australia will travel to Indore to take part in the second ODI at the Holkar Cricket Stadium, before finishing up the series with the final match at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on September 27.

In March of 2023, India had competed against Australia in the three-match ODI series, which they went on to lose by 2-1. After securing a win in the first match in Mumbai (WS), the Men in Blue succumbed to two consecutive defeats to their upcoming opponents from down under in Visakhapatnam and Chennai.

Notably, the ODI World Cup 2023 opener for Team India will be against Australia at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on October 8. With that in mind, both these cricketing nations will be looking to get attuned to the Indian conditions in their upcoming ODI series as the quadrennial spectacle draws nearer.

India squad for first two ODIs against Australia:

KL Rahul (c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar

India squad for third ODI against Australia:

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel (subject to fitness), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar