Match Details

Date: July 5, 2024

Time: 7:00 PM IST

Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Live Ball-By-Ball Commentary: SportsTiger App

FollowIND-W vs SA-W Live Scores Here


India Women will take on South Africa Women in the first T20I of the three-match series at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Following their comprehensive wins in the ODIs and Tests, the Indian cricket team will be eyeing a clean sweep of South Africa with a series victory in the T20Is as well. With that, South Africa have to bring their A-game to the fore in the upcoming T20I series, to not head home winless after a one-month-long tour.

Pitch Report

The pitches at the MA Chidambaram are known to assist the spinners irrespective of the format, but the presence of dew in the field could be advantageous for the batters. With that, the average first innings score of 131 at this venue in WT20s will not be enough for either India or South Africa to defend in the first match of the series.

Team Analysis

India Women 

Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma are one of the most formidable opening pairs in all formats, who provide fast starts at the top of the order for the captain Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Richa Ghosh, and the other batters in the Indian team to capitalise on. On the bowling side of things, India will be relying on Renuka Thakur and Arundhati Reddy to pick up early wickets in the upcoming T20I series before the likes of Asha Shobhana and Deepti Sharma put the squeeze on the opposition in the middle overs.

India Women's Squad for T20I Series

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Dayalan Hemalatha, Uma Chetry, Richa Ghosh, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sajana Sajeevan, Deepti Sharma, Shreyanka Patil, Radha Yadav, Amanjot Kaur, Asha Sobhana, Pooja Vastrakar, Renuka Singh Thakur, Arundhati Reddy

South Africa Women

South Africa will be needing their experienced batting trio of the captain Laura Wolvaardt, Sune Luus, and Marizanne Kapp to do the bulk of the scoring in the upcoming T20I series. The role of Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, and Tumi Sekhukhune will be to keep the rate of scoring of the opposition batters in check, which could lead to wickets falling in clusters.

South Africa Women's Squad for T20I Series

Laura Wolvaardt (c), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon

Match Prediction

match prediction


India have been steadily building a formidable lineup in women’s cricket with the advent of the Women’s Premier League (WPL), which is why it will be difficult for South Africa to get the better of them in the upcoming T20I series.

Disclaimer: The facts expressed within this article are the author's personal opinions. They do not reflect the views of SportsTiger. It is not a reflection of the actual points you might earn. SportsTiger does not assume any responsibility or liability for the same.