Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

The Indian team is all set to take on Bangladesh in their first and only warm-up match at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on June 1. The Men in Blue featuring a set of young and dynamic players are aiming to deliver a better performance than they did at the 2022 season. The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was the eighth season of the tournament. 

It took place in Australia and saw England beating Pakistan to be crowned T20 World Champions for the second time and draw with West Indies. Let’s have a look at how the inaugural season winners performed that season. 

India at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

India’s squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

The Men in Blue were led by Rohit Sharma. India’s full squad for the tournament is: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players - Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

India’s grouping and placements

The 2007 winners were placed in Group 2 along with Bangladesh, Pakistan and South Africa. The top 8 teams from the previous tournament on the basis of their ICC rankings qualified directly for the Super 12s. 

Group Stage

  • India played their first match of the tournament against arch-rivals Pakistan and registered a four-wicket win over their counterparts. 
  • Later, they were up against the Netherlands, where they took down their counterparts by 56 runs.
  • In the third fixture of the tournament, India locked horns with South Africa and won the game by five wickets. 
  • The Men in Blue rubbed shoulders with Bangladesh in their next game, where they registered a five-run win with the DLS method. The game saw Virat Kohli becoming the highest run-scorer in the ICC T20 World Cup, surpassing Mahela Jayawardene. 
  • In their final group-stage game, India were up against Zimbabwe where they clinched an easy 71-run win over the rivals. By this game, Rohit Sharma and Co. had already made it to the knockout stage of the season. 


In the second semifinal of the tournament, India clashed against England, who eventually emerged victorious in the tournament. The semifinals saw India slumping to England by 10 wickets. The match also saw Virat Kohli becoming the first cricketer to score 4000 runs in T20Is.