Credit: X

Credit: X

India’s probable 20-player squad with 15 in-squad and five stand-bys for the T20 World Cup 2024 was revealed on April 17, Wednesday.  As per the reported squad, India’s contingent for the upcoming tournament won’t have any new faces and will feature a few tried and tested players with some experience representing the nation on the international stage. Notably, the Men’s T20I World Cup is scheduled from June 2 (IST) to June 29 (IST) in the USA and West Indies. All the participating teams have to announce their squad for the tournament by May 1 and will be able to make changes until May 25. 

According to the PTI, either Shubman Gill or Yashasvi Jaiswal wouldn’t be included in the final 15, but if both are picked, only one of Shivam Dube or Rinku Singh would make it to the team. Not only this, but the Ajit Agarkar-led selection panel will have difficulty choosing their second wicketkeeper from players like Sanju Samson, Jitesh Sharma, KL Rahul, and Ishan Kishan. In addition to this, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav will make it to the squad automatically. 

India’s probable 15+ 5 stand-bys in contention: 

Batters: Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rinku Singh

All-Rounders: Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Axar Patel

Specialist Spinners: Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi

Wicketkeeper-batters: Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul and Sanju Samson

Pacers: Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan.

A BCCI source was quoted by the PTI as saying, “There would not be any experimentation or left-field selections. All those who have played for India and have done well consistently in T20 Internationals and the IPL will be rewarded.”