The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday (19 February) announced the squad for the last two Tests of the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2022-23 and the three-match ODI series vs Australia. There was a solitary change made to the current squad. Jaydev Unadkat, who was released to play the Ranji Trophy 2022-23 final against Bengal, has been recalled. Meanwhile, Jasprit Bumrah, who has been out of cricketing action since July last year, is still in rehabilitation.

The selectors have retained the same squad because India has won the first two Tests and has had to break little sweat in the quest for those two wins. While the Rohit Sharma-led team beat Australia by an inning and 132 runs in the first Test, the hosts beat the Pat Cummins-led team by six wickets in the second Test in Delhi. 

KL Rahul, who struggled in both matches, has not been named Vice-Captain for the remaining two Tests.

India’s Test squad for third and fourth Test against Australia: Rohit Sharma (Captain), K L Rahul, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Meanwhile, almost a similar squad that played against Sri Lanka in the ODI series was announced for the three ODIs to be played in Mumbai, Vishakhapatnam, and Chennai. However, Rohit Sharma will not be available for the first ODI due to personal reasons. 

"Mr Rohit Sharma will be unavailable for the first ODI due to family commitments and Mr Hardik Pandya will lead the side in the first ODI," said BCCI in its statement.

India’s ODI squad against Australia: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, K L Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat.