CSK have comfortably defeated MI by seven wickets to register their second win of the IPL 2023 season. CSK winning the toss invited MI to bat first and restricted them to a total of 157/8 in the first innings with the help of both their spinners Jadeja (3/20) and Santner (2/28) picking five wickets together. MI started aggressively in the powerplay to post a big total on the board but the CSK spinners kept picking wickets at regular intervals and put pressure on the Mumbai batters.

CSK in run-chase lost their opening batsman Devon Conway for a duck but Ajinkya Rahane's sensational batting at the number three position completely changed the due course of game as he went on to smash 61 runs from 27 balls to ensure a very convincing win for the Super Kings. Arshad Khan ended up being the most expensive bowler as he ended up conceding 23 runs off an over to Rahane which completely changed the complexion of game towards Chennai. 

Numbers and Stats from MI vs CSK game:

3 - Rohit Sharma became the third batsman after Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina to complete 5000 runs in the T20 cricket for an IPL franchise.

Most runs in T20 Cricket for an IPL franchise:
Virat Kohli - 7151 for RCB
Suresh Raina - 5529 for CSK
Rohit Sharma - 5004 for MI

4 - For the fourth time CSK have defeated MI at the Wankhede Stadium in the IPL out of the 11 games played overall.

Instances of CSK beating MI at the Wankhede Stadium in the IPL:
by 4 wickets in 2014
by 6 wickets in 2015
by 1 wickets in 2018
by 7 wickets in 2023

12 - Ravindra Jadeja has won the MoM award for the 12th time in the IPL.

Most times winning MoM award for CSK in IPL:
MS Dhoni - 15
Suresh Raina - 12
Ravindra Jadeja - 12

12 - Since 2022, Rohit Sharma as the skipper of MI has lost 12 out of 16 matches in the IPL.

15 - CSK have won 15 matches against MI in the IPL.

Most matches won against MI in IPL:
DC - 15
CSK - 15
PBKS - 14
RCB - 14

19 - Ajinkya Rahane has recorded the fastest fifty of the IPL 2023 edition from just 19 balls.

Fastest fifty for CSK in IPL by balls faced:
Suresh Raina - 16 vs PBKS in Mumbai, 2014
Moeen Ali - 19 vs RR in Mumbai, 2022
Ajinkya Rahane - 19 vs MI in Mumbai, 2023

23 - Ajinkya Rahane has smashed 23 runs off an over bowled by Arshad Khan.

Most runs smashed in 4th Over off an IPL innings:
Jos Buttler - 26 vs MI in Navi Mumbai, 2022
Sunil Narine -25 vs RCB in Bengaluru, 2017
KL Rahul - 24 vs CSK in Mohali, 2019
Ajinkya Rahane - 23 vs MI in Mumbai-WS, 2023
Bhanuka Rajapaksa - 22 vs KKR in Mumbai-WS, 2022