Sri Lanka announce 24-member squad for England tour; Kusal Perera to lead

The Lions led by Perera are scheduled to leave the island nation on June 8.

Saurabh GangulyAuthor

Updated - 05 June 2021 06:32 PM


In a recent development, the Sri Lanka Cricket Board has announced a 24-member squad for their forthcoming limited-overs tour of England. However, local media reports suggest that the squad is subject to approval from the Sports Minister, it is being learned that Kusal Perera is set to lead the team in both One Day Internationals (ODIs) as well as the T20 Internationals (T20Is). The selectors have trusted as many as four uncapped uncapped players, namely Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Charith Asalanka and Shiran Fernando in this squad.

Meanwhile, it is also being reported that Avishka Fernando, Oshada Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep and Kasun Rajitha, who missed out from Bangladesh tour, have returned to the squad. The Lions led by Kusal Perera are scheduled to leave the island nation on June 8. The England tour will begin on June 23 with the T20I series and end on July 4 with the 50-overs leg. Prior to the international fixtures, Sri Lanka are set to play a One-Day practice match against Kent on June 18 and a T20 practice against Sussex on June 20.

Sri Lanka squad:

Kusal Perera (c), Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Oshada Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Shiran Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando and Ishan Jayaratne.

Here’s the schedule:

June 18: One Day Practice match at Canterbury

June 20: T20 Practice match at Hove

June 23: First T20I at Cardiff

June 24: Second T20I at Cardiff

June 26: Third T20I at Southampton

June 29: First ODI at Durham

July 1: Second ODI at London

July 4: Third ODI at Bristol


Join our Family Today!