sandeep warrier ipl 2023 sportstiger

Picture Credit: BCC/IPL

Five-time champions Mumbai Indians have named Kerala fast bowler Sandeep Warrier as a replacement for Jasprit Bumrah ahead of IPL 2023.  Warrier has played 68 T20s and scalped 62 wickets for Kerala. The 31-year-old made his India debut in 2021. 

He has previously played for Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the cash-rich league.  Bumrah has been ruled out of IPL 2023 after undergoing surgery on his back recently. This injury also saw the star pacer miss the T20 World Cup as well, last year.

The development was confirmed via a press release shared by the IPL which also included the announcement of Abhishek Porel being picked by the Delhi Capitals to replace the injured Rishab Pant. 

The statement said, " Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians named Abhishek Porel and Sandeep Warrier as replacements for Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah respectively for the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023.  While Porel joins DC for INR 20 Lakh, MI have brought Sandeep Warrier on board for INR 50 Lakh."

Mumbai Indians are set to kick-start their IPL 2023 campaign against the Royal Challengers Bangalore on April 2 at the Chinnaswamy Stadium. The 2022 season was a nightmare for the five-time champions as they finished 10th on the table with a record of four wins and 10 losses. 

Then in the auction for the 2023 season, Mumbai Indians had a decent performance as they picked Australian prodigy Cameron Green for a massive sum of I NR 17.50 crores. MI also brought in Aussie pacer  Jhye Richardson, who has since been ruled out of the tournament.

Mumbai Indians updated squad for IPL 2023:

Rohit Sharma (C), Jasprit Bumrah (injured), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Jofra Archer, Tim David, Mohd Arshad Khan, Ramandeep Singh, Hrithik Shokeen, Arjun Tendulkar, Tristan Stubbs, Kumar Kartikeya, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal, Cameron Green, Jhye Richardson  (injured) , Piyush Chawla, Duan Jansen, Vishnu Vinod, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadhera, Raghav Goyal,  Sandeep Warrier.