The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday (25 Jan) announced the owners of the five teams who will be taking part in the inaugural edition of the league. Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) were among the five successful bidders for owning a team in Women’s Premier League. The Bangalore-based franchise spent a whopping 901 CR to claim the ownership of one of the five teams.

Now, the franchise has changed its logo after acquiring the Women’s team. RCB updated its profile picture on Twitter with the symbol for female fused with C of RCB. “Breaking barriers, making history, and playing bold! Royal Challengers Bangalore are the proud owners of the Bengaluru Women's Premier League Team,” tweeted RCB while sharing the new logo. 

Notably, apart from RCB, Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals will also have a team in the Women’s Premier League. Reliance Industries-backed Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd placed a successful bid for the Mumbai-based franchise. Meanwhile, JSW GMR Pvt. Ltd. (owners of Delhi Capitals) placed a bid for the Delhi-based franchise. 

The other two successful bids were placed by Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd and Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd. Also, Adani Group placed the highest bid among all, spending a whopping 1298 CR to claim ownership of the Ahmedabad-based franchise. 

WPL breaks IPL record

The total bid for the five WPL franchises crossed what eight bidders had spent during the inaugural edition of IPL. BCCI Secretary Jay Shah took to Twitter to share the news. “Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of inaugural #WIPL broke the records of the inaugural Men’s IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we garnered Rs.4669.99 Cr in total bid,” Shah wrote.