shreyas iyer team india sportstiger

Picture Credit: Twitter

In a big update it has been confirmed that middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer will miss the three-match ODI series against Australia. The two sides will lock horns in an ODI series, starting March 17 at the Wankhede Stadium. The second and third ODI will be played on March 19 and 22 at YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium and MA Chidambaram Stadium, respectively.

Follow IND vs AUS ODI Series Live Scores


This update comes after the Indian fielding coach T Dilip opened up on Iyer’s injury during the pre-match press conference. “Injuries are a part and parcel of the game. We have the best medical facilities, and they are well-equipped… We are in co-ordination with NCA. Shreyas ruled out of the series. (We will be able to provide) further update as and when we know,” Dilip said in the press conference.


It is to be noted that Iyer missed the last two days of the fourth Test due to recurrence of his lower-back injury and was replaced by Suryakumar Yadav in the middle.


Talking about the upcoming ODI series, Hardik Pandya will lead the Men in Blue in the first ODI in Rohit Sharma’s absence. Meanwhile he is said to return for the remaining two matches.

India squad for ODI series:  
Rohit Sharma (Captain),  Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, K L Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat

Download SportsTiger app for the latest sports news and updates