south africa squad for india series sportstiger

Picture Credit: X

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday, 4 December named their squads for the multi-format series against India, starting December 10. The rainbow nation will host the Men in Blue in a multi-format series, including three-match T20I and ODI series and two Tests.


While the side will be led by Aiden Markram in T20Is and ODIs, regular captain Temba Bavuma will take the charge for the two-match Test series, set to kick start from 26 December. Additionally, Bavuma and pacer Kagiso Rabada who have requested to take some time off the white-ball series as they aim to focus on red-ball cricket.


“CSA has today named the Proteas squads for all-format inbound tour against India from 10 Dec - 7 Jan. Captain Temba Bavuma and Kagiso Rabada are amongst a group of players that have been omitted for the white-ball leg of the tour in order to play red-ball cricket as emphasis is placed on the Test series for which both will return”.


Anrich Nortje and Sisanda Magala, who missed the ODI World Cup 2023 in India, will continue to miss the India series with stress fracture and knee injury, respectively. However, the side has added David Bedigham, Mihlali Mpongwana and Nandre Burger.

South Africa squads for India series 2023-24:


T20Is: Aiden Markram (C), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (only first & second T20I), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen ( only first & second T20I), Henrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi (only first & second T20I), Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams.


ODIs: Aiden Markram (C), Ottniel Baartman, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Henrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams.


Tests: Temba Bavuma (C), David Bedingham, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee, Tony de Zorzi, dean Elgar, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Tristan Stubbs, Kyle Verreynne.

Also Read: BCCI announces India squads for Test, ODI & T20I series against South Africa; big names missing