Picture Credit: Twitter

Picture Credit: Twitter

South Africa, one of the most accomplished nations in the cricketing world, are yet to win the ODI World Cup crown in their history. The Proteas haven’t even reached the grand finale of the quadrennial event in eight attempts, after taking part in the tournament for the first-time in 1992.

The inaugural ICC Champions Trophy winners from 1998 have taken part in four semi-finals in the World Cup. In the 2019 edition of the prestigious tournament in England and Wales, the team from South Africa were eliminated from the group stage, after finishing in seventh place among 10 teams with only three wins in nine matches.

In 2023, the Proteas are set to play in the World Cup for the ninth straight occasion, after qualifying to the cricketing spectacle through the ICC ODI Super League at the flag end of the tournament. Recently, the draft schedule of the ODI World Cup 2023 was released in parts, which had teams scheduled to play their group stage matches across multiple cities in India.

South Africa will play against the hosts India at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 5, during the second half of the World Cup. Meanwhile, they are scheduled to meet Pakistan on October 27 at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. 

 The entire schedule of South Africa for the ODI World Cup 2023 is below:

October 7: vs Sri Lanka (Delhi)

October 12: vs Australia (Lucknow)

October 17: vs Netherlands (Dharamsala)

October 21: vs England (Mumbai)

October 24: vs Bangladesh (Mumbai)

October 27: vs Pakistan (Chennai)

November 1: vs New Zealand (Pune)

November 5: vs India (Kolkata)

November 10: vs Afghanistan (Ahmedabad)