Credit: X

Credit: X

Ahead of India's T20 World Cup 2024 opener, captain Rohit Sharma announced a shocking change to their playing XI as front line spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal were dropped as they chose to bowl first. The Men in Blue take on Paul Stirling-led Ireland at the newly constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

Before this match against Ireland, Team India played Bangladesh at the venue where the pacers dominated by picking up the majority of wickets. Further, the first T20I in New York between Sri Lanka and South Africa also saw Proteas' fast bowlers bundle out the Lankans at 76. Hence Team India may have opted go in with only two spinners - Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel and no KulCha.

Team India drop KulCha for clash against Ireland at New York

Speaking about his combination, Rohit Sharma stated that the team has prepared well and assessed the conditions well. At the toss, Indian captain  said,  "We're going to bowl. Preparations have been alright. Have been managing ourselves in these new conditions. Has been challenging but we are all professionals. We played on a similar pitch and do know what to expect a little bit."

Team India  Playing XI vs Ireland

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj