Team India’s squad for ODI series against South Africa

The Indian team is likely to give rest to senior players for the ODI series and some young names can emerge in the squad.

Swati BhatiaAuthor

Updated - 02 October 2022 06:29 PM


After the successful T20I series against Australia, Team India will make a final push before the start of the T20 World Cup. South Africa team have arrived in India for three T20Is and three ODIs, starting from September 28. The limited overs series will start with T20Is and will conclude in October with ODIs. 

While Rohit Sharma is set to lead the T20I side, Shikhar Dhawan will lead the charge for the 50-over series. Although Sanju Samson is not part of India’s World Cup squad and T20Is against the Proteas, he will join the Men in Blue for the ODI series. Shreyas Iyer will be deputy of Shikhar Dhawan in the ODI series.

On the other hand, South African team have arrived with a strong white-ball squad for the big series against the Men in Blue. Skipper Temba Bavuma has recovered from a left elbow injury, which he suffered during the five-match T20I series against Team India in June. Meanwhile, Rassie van der Dussen will miss out on the India tour and ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 due to a finger injury.

South Africa Squad for ODI Series:  Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.

India’s Squad for ODI Series: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shreyas Iyer (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar


Join our Family Today!