ilt20 match 27 who will win

The inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) or the Women’s IPL is all set to be staged this year. The owners of the five teams that will take part in the first-ever edition of WPL have already been decided. The names of two of the five teams have also been revealed/ While the Capri Global-owned team will be called Lucknow Warriors, the Adani Sportsline-owned franchise will be referred to as Gujarat Giants. 

Download SportsTiger  app   for  the latest  sports  news and updates

Now, as fans eagerly wait for the player auction to take place, there is a major update around the schedule of WPL 2023. It has been reported that the first season of the Women’s Premier League will take place from 4 March to 26 March and is likely to be hosted entirely in Mumbai at two venues- CCI and DY Patil Stadium. 

Meanwhile, the first match of the tournament is expected to be played between Team Mumbai and Team Ahmedabad. As per a report in Cricbuzz, the organizers are keen on starting the tournament with a match between the teams of two of India’s biggest businessmen- Mukesh Ambai and Gautam Adani. 

“The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is planning a blockbuster opening for the Women's Premier League (WPL). A tentative schedule, being circulated among the relevant authorities of the yet-to-be-launched league, says the first match will be between Team Mumbai and Team Ahmedabad on March 4 (Saturday),” reports Cricbuzz. 

The DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai is being touted as the venue for the opening fixture of WPL 2023. The report has further claimed that Team Bangalore will be up against Team Delhi in the second match of the first edition of the tournament, set to be played on 5 March at CCI. Meanwhile, Team Ahmedabad is slated to play Team Lucknow (Gujarat Giants vs Lucknow Warriors) in the third match which will also be played on 5 March. 

“As per the schedule, three of the five competing sides seem to be making the play-offs, with the top team directly entering the final and second and third-placed sides playing the Eliminator,” the report claimed about the playoff format.

Meanwhile, the five-team league which will have 22 games in total will see five days off between 4 March and 26 March (on March 17, 19, 22, 23, and 25). The only Eliminator is scheduled to take place on 24 March at CCI with the summit clash scheduled for 26 March at the DY Patil Stadium.