Top 5 worst umpiring calls in IPL 2022

SportsTiger StaffAuthor

Updated - 01 June 2022 04:31 PM

Live-Blog-Image

The umpires have a key role to play in managing the operations of any sport. They make sure that proper rules and regulations are followed, and that the games take place in a fair manner. In a game of cricket, their decisions have had a larger impact on the outcome of the match.

In Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, some of the controversial decisions of the on-field and third umpire umpires proved to be the game-changing moment.

Here are the top 5 worst umpiring calls in IPL 2022:

1. Rohit Sharma’s caught behind dismissal

Match 56 of the 2022 edition between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) witnessed Rohit Sharma getting dismissed on in the 2nd over of Tim Southee. The ball from Southee brushed off the pads of Sharma and was caught by wicket-keeper Sheldon Jackson.

KKR immediately took the review, and the ultra-edge displayed a spike even before the ball made a contact with the bat, which was maintained until the ball got past the bat. Hence, the decision was overturned in favor of KKR. After the decision, Sharma was seen as shocked by the decision, and the cricket fraternity had a long debate on weather the MI skipper was out or not.

2. Umpire calling a legal delivery wide in RR vs KKR

In Match 47 of IPL 2022 between RR and KKR, the umpire made a major blunder in his decision, calling the legal delivery as wide. In the 19th over of the KKR innings, Rinku Singh tried to shuffle across the off stump, and Prasidh Krishna bowled a wayward delivery to deny him enough room to play the shot.

The ball was over the tramline, but Singh also tried to reach out to the delivery. However, the umpire called it a wide, which left RR captain Sanju Samson getting fumed and even taking a review in protest of the decision.

3. Matthew Wade’s dismissal against RCB

In a match against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Gujarat Titans (GT) batter Matthew Wade was reprimanded for breaching the IPL's Code of Conduct. It was due to his conduct in the dressing room, wherein he threw his helmet and smashed his bat after his dismissal at Wankhede Stadium.

In an attempt to sweep the ball, Wade missed the ball of Glenn Maxwell, which was hit on his back foot, and was adjudged LBW. Sensing a contact with the glove/bat, the GT batter took a review. Although it seemed as if the ball had deflected off his glove, the ultra-edge had no spike as the ball passed on to the bat, which frustrated Wade.

4. Kane Williamson’s controversial catch by Devdutt Paddikal

In the first week of this season, the Royals faced the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). Chasing a score of 210, SRH could not get off to a good start, with the captain Kane Williamson getting caught at slip by Devdutt Padikkal in the second over.

To the naked eye, it seemed like a valid catch. But when the on-field umpires referred it to the TV umpire, the replay showed that the ball might have dropped before finally getting rested beneath the hands of Padikkal. However, it was given out, which sparked the criticism of the umpires. After the completion of the match, the team management had written a letter to the match referee as well.

5. Virat Kohli’s contentious LBW decision

Over the years, Virat Kohli has been an unlucky player to get caught on the wrong side of the decision in the international and the IPL as well. In a game against MI, Kohli was already the top scorer for the team, and the game was already done and dusted.

The young-gun Dewald Brevis came to bowl his first over of the season and dismissed Virat Kohli LBW. With Kohli sensing the nick off his bat, he took the review. The ultra-edge witnessed the ball making a contact with the bat and pads at the same time, and the third umpire didn’t had enough evidence, resulting in the decision of the on-field umpire was upheld.

HAVE A GREAT DAY WITH TOP STORIES IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS

Join our Family Today!