Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

Cricket West Indies on Friday, May 3 announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, set to be played at their home and the United States of America (USA) in June. While Rovman Powell, who is currently plying his trade for inaugural IPL champions Rajasthan Royals (RR) in IPL 2024, will lead the side at the marquee event.

Moreover, the squad saw return of Shimron Hetmyer, after he missed the T20I series against Australia. Apart from them, young West Indies sensation Shamar Joseph, who made his Test debut against Australia and helped the side breach the fortress in The Gabba (Brisbane), is also poised to mark his T20I debut after being named in the 15-man side. 

While Johnson Charles, Brandon King and Shai Hope are expected to fill the top-order positions, Kyle Mayers, is being looked up to fulfil the role of a lower-order batter over an opener. Oshane Thomas has been the only notable miss in the 15-member side for the T20 World Cup 2024. 

West Indies squad for T20 World cup 2024

Rovman Powell (C), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd