Picture Credit: X/ICC

Picture Credit: X/ICC

The 2024 edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is currently underway in the USA and West Indies. The tournament has a total of 20 teams engaging in high-octane cricketing drama to take the coveted title home. Last season, England scripted history by winning the T20 World Cup for the second time and became the second team to do so. In the finale, the Three Lions defeated Pakistan at the MCG by a margin of five wickets to win their second title. 

Most teams to win T20 World Cups

In previous eight editions, a total of six teams have won the tournament. In this article, we will discuss the teams who have won the most T20 World Cups. 

West Indies

west indies

West Indies became the first team to win the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup twice. They won their first title in 2012, despite losing their first game against Australia. In the final, the Caribbean team clashed against Sri Lanka, to lift the title for the first time. Their second cup came one season later, in 2016, hosted in India. West Indies achieved the feat by defeating England in the final. West Indies had a stellar campaign that season, where they had lost only one match against Afghanistan.