Picture Credit: BCCI/IPL

Picture Credit: BCCI/IPL

After Mumbai Indians (MI) registered their maiden win in the IPL 2024, as they beat Delhi Capitals (DC) by 29 runs at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, the KL Rahul-led Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) are taking on Gujarat Titans (GT) at the Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow in the second match of Sunday’s double-header. 

Notably, both the teams are coming off contrasting results. While the LSG are on a two-match unbeaten streak, the GT lost their last fixture to the Punjab Kings, which was also their first defeat at their home ground. While it was KL Rahul, who won the toss and opted to bat first. 

However, with S hubman Gill, who also hoped to have opted to bowl first, call ed for a few changes in his side. Speaking at the toss, Gill confirmed that wicketkeeper-batter Wriddhiman Saha is out with back spasm and BR Sharath replacing him in the side. Moreover, Afghan all-rounder Azmatullah Omarzai also misses out with injury.

“We would have bowled first, so happy. We were on top on the game for 33 overs of the match, the last seven overs didn’t go in our favour. We have a couple of changes. Saha misses out due to back spasm and BR Sharath makes his debut for us. Spencer comes back in for Omarzai. We got to forget what has happened in the previous match,” Gill said.

LSG vs GT Playing XI

Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul (C/wk), Devdutt Padikkal, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi, Yash Thakur, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mayank Yadav

Impact Subs: Manimaran Siddharth, Deepak Hooda, Amit Mishra, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Arshad Khan

Gujarat Titans: Shubman Gill, Sharath BR (wk), Sai Sudharshan, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Noor Ahmad, Umesh Yadav, Spencer Johnson, Darshan Nalkande, Mohit Sharma

Impact Subs: Kane Williamson, Abhinav Manohar, Matthew Wade, Manav Suthar, Jayant Yadav.