Picture Credit: X

Picture Credit: X

Former India cricketer Yusuf Pathan, who made his politics debut in 2024 was leading from Baharampur seat, West Bengal, as Lok Sabha 2024 elections counting got underway on Tuesday, June 4. Pathan, who represented India in 57 ODIs and 22 T20Is between September 2007 and March 2012 was announced as the Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate for West Bengal’s  Baharampur  seat in the Lok Sabha elections. 

During the elections, Pathan, aged 42, challenged Congress’ Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, a prominent critic of TMC leader Mamta Banerjee, who has been at the helm of  Baharampur  seat since 1999. As of writing, Pathan was leading from his seat by the difference of more than 20,000 votes. 

Pathan ran for office in the Baharampur, earlier known as Berhampore, Lok Sabha Constituency, which is one of India’s 543 parliamentary constituencies. The constituency is located in West Bengal, governed by Mamta Banerjee. The constituency consists of seven assembly segments which are situated in the Murshidabad district and designated as No. 10 Baharampur Lok Sabha constituency.  Check the top betting trends on the  best betting sites in India  and  1win promo code .

The former cricketer represented India in 57 ODIs and 22 T20Is, where he scored 810 runs and 236 runs, respectively. He scalped 33 wickets in the ODIs and 13 wickets in the T20Is. 

(Read  Latest Cricket News  and Breaking News of Cricket at  SportsTiger . Also browse  Domestic Cricket Live Score  and Today Cricket Match)