Obviously the pressure is different: Babar Azam talks about facing India thrice in Asia Cup 2022

India and Pakistan are set to go head to head against each other on 28 August in Dubai.

Abhishek SandikarAuthor

Updated - 12 August 2022 08:17 PM

Babar Azam web ST

The greatest rivals in world cricket - India and Pakistan - are set to lock horns multiple times in the upcoming 2022 Asia Cup. During a media interaction, Pakistan captain Babar Azam was asked if there was any pressure on the Pakistan team given as they will face India in three matches in the upcoming Asia Cup 2022 and the Pakistan skipper gave a positive reply.

"Look, what we try is to play it like a normal match only. Yes, obviously the pressure is different. But like we did in (T20) World Cup 2021 that is to focus on our game and believe in the team and ourselves. This time too we are going to give our best. Effort is in our hands but result is not," Babar said.

The last time these two sides met at the same venue, Pakistan defeated India for the first in a World Cup match in any format. Pakistan beat India by 10 wickets in the 2021 T20 World Cup. Babar Azam said, they will approach the Asia Cup in the same manner and try to focus on their own game.

India and Pakistan are set to go head to head against each other on 28 August in Dubai. Then the teams will be playing each other in a round-robin format, India is likely to face Pakistan for the second time in the tournament as both teams are likely to make the cut. Then if both the teams enter the final, then it will be the third time in the event that both India and Pakistan will play each other. 

Squads For Asia Cup 2022:

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir.


Join our Family Today!