Trending News

Pak vs WI 1st ODI: Records created by Babar Azam in Pakistan vs West Indies 1st ODI match

Babar Azam broke Virat Kohli's record to become the fastest to smash 1000 runs in ODI's as Captain.

Sudharshan Sridharan Author

Updated - 9 June 2022 4:33 pm

Babar Azam

Pakistan defeated West Indies by 5 wickets at Multan with the help of stunning finish from Khushdil Shah at the end. Babar Azam’s scintillating century and fifty-plus scores from Imam-ul-Haq and Mohammad Rizwan, respectively helped Pakistan to stay in the race to chase down 306 runs. Babar Azam achieved new milestones after his century in 1st ODI and we will have a look at some of the records achieved by Pakistan skipper.

Records created by Babar Azam in Pakistan vs West Indies 1st ODI match:

2 – Babar Azam became first batsman in ODI history to smash three consecutive centuries twice. He previously smashed three consecutive ODI centuries in 2016.

Babar Azam’s streak of hat-trick centuries in ODIs:
120 vs WI in Sharjah, 2016
123 vs WI in Sharjah, 2016
117 vs WI in Abu Dhabi, 2016

114 vs Aus in Lahore, 2022
105* vs Aus in Lahore, 2022
103 vs WI in Multan, 2022

8 – Babar Azam smashed his 8th century as captain in international cricket. Also, Azam became the 8th Pakistani player to smash more than 1000 runs in ODIs as captain.

Most centuries for Pakistan as captain in international cricket:
Inzamam-ul-Haq : 9
Misbah-ul-Haq / Babar Azam – 8
Imran Khan – 6

13 –  Babar Azam broke Virat Kohli’s record to smash 1000 runs in ODIs as captain. He achieved the feat in just 13 innings, while Kohli achieved the milestone in 17 innings. 

Fastest to 1000 runs as captain in ODI (by innings):
Babar Azam – 13 innings
Virat Kohli – 17 innings
AB de Villiers – 18 innings
Kane Williamson – 20 innings
Alastair Cook – 21 innings

59.78 – Babar Azam averages 59.78 with the bat in ODIs which is highest among all batsman who played minimum 40 innings.

Highest batting average in ODIs (Minimum 40 innings):
Babar Azam : 59.78
Virat Kohli : 58.07
Imam-ul-Haq : 54.22
Michael Bevan : 53.58
AB de Villiers : 53.50

85 – Babar Azam became the fastest to smash 17 ODI centuries (85 innings)

Fastest to smash 17 centuries in ODIs by innings:
Babar Azam – 85 innings
Hashim Amla – 98 innings
Virat Kohli – 112 innings
David Warner – 113 innings
Aaron Finch – 126 innings


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story