Sachin-Tendulkar-Road-Safety-World-Series - sportstiger

Picture Credit: Twitter

Ever since former India batter, Sachin Tendulkar retired from international cricket, every fan is always waiting for an opportunity to witness the Master Blaster play at any level again. Be it the IPL, Ranji Trophy or a series of games, everyone just gravitates to the screens to watch him play. 

Sources close to SportsTiger confirmed that Sachin Tendulkar is set to return in the upcoming Road Safety World series, but there is no clarity on his role in the tournament yet. 

Sources also informed that the Road Safety World Series is set start on 4 June 2022 with the final scheduled on 3 July 2022. The tournament will be played across three confirmed venues in Lucknow, Indore, Jodhpur while the fourth venue is not confirmed yet.  

The Road Safety World Series is founded by the chief of RTO, Thane and the Konkan region Ravi Gaikwad in collaboration with the BCCI. The first edition of the tournament was played in March 2020, but with Covid-19 pandemic, some games of the tournament were rescheduled to a later date.

Later the remaining seven games of the tournament were played behind closed doors at DY Patil Stadium. Then in 2021, the organizers resumed the event with six teams taking part in the tournament - India Legends, Sri Lanka Legends, South Africa Legends, West Indies Legends, Bangladesh Legends, and England Legends.

The last season of the RSWS  had around 160 international retired cricketers in action, like Jonty Rhodes, Carl Hooper, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh and Australia veteran bowler Brett Lee amongst other big stars. Dilshan was the Player of the Series of the inaugural edition as he ended the tournament as the highest scorer and wicket-taker.

The Indian Legends won the title as they defeated Dilshan-led Sri Lanka Legends in the final. India Legends scored a massive score of 181/4 in their stipulated 20 overs. Sachin Tendulkar scored 30(23) while Yuvraj Singh added  60 of 41 and Yusuf Pathan made an unbeaten 62*off 36. In the second innings, Indian Legends restricted Sri Lankan Legends at 167 with crucial spells from Yusuf Pathan and Irfan Pathan to lift the title.