Trending News

South Africa announce 15-member squad for 2021 T20 World Cup; Faf Du Plessis misses out

In overall six appearances, South Africa's best performances in T20 World Cup came in 2009 and 2014 when they reached the semifinals.

Saurabh Ganguly Editor

Updated - 14 October 2021 5:20 pm

T20 World Cup 2021 South Africa Squad

Cricket South Africa have selected their final T20 World Cup squad ahead of the marquee event set to commence in October. The Proteas have surprisingly left out Faf Du Plessis, Imran Tahir and Chris Morris from their T20 World Cup squad. Temba Bavuma will lead the team in the T20 World Cup.

Notably, Du Plessis took retirement from Test cricket to focus on T20 cricket. Meanwhile, Rajasthan Royals signed up Chris Morris for a whopping Rs 16.25 crore in the Indian Premier League 2021 auction.

The Proteas are part of Group 1 in Super 12s and have been pooled alongside England, Australia and West Indies. These teams will be joined by two more teams who will secure qualification after Round 1. Meanwhile, Group 2 has India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the other two qualifiers from Round 1.

The event is set to commence on Sunday, October 17, 2021, with the final scheduled on Sunday, November 14, 2021. The Proteas are yet to win an ICC trophy but do not start as favourites to clinch the tournament even this year. However, they would look to put up a spirited show this year and take their campaign forward. In overall six appearances, South Africa’s best performances in T20 World Cup came in 2009 and 2014 when they reached the semifinals.

Also Read: England’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021

South Africa’s T20 World Cup squad:

Temba Bavuma (c), Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, W Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

Travelling reserves: Andile Phehlukwayo, George Linde, Lizaad Williams.


Join our Family Today!
Prev Next Story