Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the much-awaited Indian squad that will travel to England to play the World Test Championship final against New Zealand. It will be a 20-member squad to ensure that enough backup options are available with the team in case of any injury, bubble fatigue or COVID-19 related issues. The finale of the inaugural edition of WTC (2019-21 cycle) is scheduled to be played from June 18 to June 22 at the Rose Bowl, Southampton. While India have revealed their squad details on Friday, the Kiwis had already announced their 20-member squad last month.

New Zealand's squad for WTC final

Kane Williamson will be leading a dangerous-looking squad that has Colin de Grandhomme and Ajaz Patel back after their respective injuries. The NZ squad is as follows:

Kane Williamson (c), Rachin Ravindra, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Tom Blundell, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling (wk), Tom Latham, Daryll Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel, Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Will Young

Meanwhile, India's squad seems no less than that of the Kiwis.

India's squad for WTC final

Virat Kohli will lead the 16-member squad with Ajinkya Rahane as his deputy. Team India squad is as follows:

KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha will be included subject to fitness clearance

While the squad features 18 confirmed players, BCCI has named two players who will be added to the squad subject to fitness clearance. KL Rahul is currently recovering after successfully undergoing surgery for appendicitis. Meanwhile, Wriddhiman Saha had tested positive for COVID-19 and is currently recovering from the same. Both the players are expected to board the flight to England provided they can prove their fitness on time.

Also Read | Team India to undergo mandatory 8-day quarantine starting from May 25, to leave for UK on June 2

BCCI also name four stand-by players

Apart from the main squad, BCCI has also named four stand-by players in case of any injury or COVID-19 related issue in England. While Abhimanyu Easwaran is the only batsman in this list, it features three exciting young pacers in the form of Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Arzan Nagwaswalla