England announce 14-member squad for ODI series against India; Dawid Malan to travel with team

The series begins on 23rd March, with all the three ODIs scheduled to take place in Pune. All the ODIs will be Day/Night matches and will start at 1:30 PM IST.

Abhinav GoelAuthor

Updated - 21 March 2021 05:34 PM


The Three Lions have announced a 14-man squad for ODI series and have retained most of the players from their T20I squad, with few new additions. Speedster Jofra Archer has returned to the UK due to elbow injury while Liam Livingstone and Matt Parkinson have been named in the squad. World no.1 T20I batsman Dawid Malan will travel with the team as reserve player.

Here's the full England Squad:

Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Livingstone, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes , Reece Topley, Mark Wood.

Reserves- Dawid Malan, Jake Ball & Chris Jordan 

Archer unfit for ODIs, set to miss start of IPL 2021 due to elbow issue

Archer will also miss the start of IPL 2021 as he recuperates from a troublesome elbow injury. The England and Wales Cricket Board said in a statement that Archer has been deemed unfit for selection for the ODI series due to the injury. The statement read:

"Archer's elbow issue has deteriorated over the course of the Twenty20 International series and made it increasingly challenging for him to maintain performance levels. As a consequence, Jofra will miss the start of this year’s Indian Premier League."

Matches to take place behind closed doors

England’s two-month long tour of India will end with three One Day Internationals at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune, starting from March 23.  All the ODIs will be day-night matches and will start at 1:30 PM IST. The series will be played behind closed doors due to rising COVID-19 cases in the country. Notably, Pune is one of the most affected cities in the state of Maharashtra.

India squad for England ODIs: Suryakumar, Krunal, Prasidh Krishna included

Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav and Krunal Pandya have all been named in India's 18-player squad to take on England. Karnataka pacer Krishna took 14 wickets at an average of 22.21 in recently concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy while Suryakumar impressed in T20I series by registering a fifty in his maiden innings.

India Squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (WK), KL Rahul (WK), Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Thangarasu Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur.


Join our Family Today!