With the COVID-19 pandemic, the game of cricket also saw some renewed rules. One of the many rules stated by the MCC was the ban of use of saliva on the ball. Although the cricketing authorities and boards have relaxed a few of the rules, the use of saliva is still banned. After this, players are now seen using sweat to shine the ball and add that factor of swing.
Despite this ban, several cricketers are punished if seen by the umpires for using saliva. In one such instance, Lucknow Super Giants bowler Amit Mishra was also seen using saliva in the match against RCB. As Mishra came in to bowl the 12 th over of the innings, he was caught applying saliva on the ball. Video of the same is now doing rounds on social media.
However, this action of Mishra wasn’t noticed by the umpires, saving the bowler of a warning. The 40-year-old surprisingly got former RCB skipper Virat Kohli’s wicket in the same. While he applied saliva before the start of the over, he claimed Kohli’s wicket on the third delivery of the same over.
Talking about the match, LSG won this close match by one wicket. After being invited to bat first, Faf du Plessis-led RCB posted 212 on the board. However, the LSG top order failed to power the team, Nicholas Pooran and Marcus Stoinis played a valuable innings to take the team to their third win.